The following databases contain material which is relevant to Allied Health Professionals. You will need an OpenAthens account to access most of the resources listed.
Best bets
NHS staff have access to around 7000 full text electronic journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, psychology and healthcare management.
You can browse journals by subject area, or search for a specific title using the options below. You will need to log in with your OpenAthens account to access the full-text of articles.
Nutrition and dietetics |
Speech and language therapy |
Rehabilitation and therapy |
|
The Library still carries a small number of print titles relevant to allied health professionals, these include:
Physical Therapy Reviews, Learning Disability Practice, Mental Health Practice, Physical Therapy Canada and the New Scientist.
These titles, and other archived editions, can be found in the back of the library in the silent study area.
If you are unable to find a journal article in our collections, we may be able to obtain a copy for you from a different library.
Access to journals is also available onsite at St. George’s Library via our library computers, unless you have an honorary title with St George’s, University of London or you are an academic with an NHS honorary contract. Talk to a member of library staff for more details.
NHS staff without joint contracts can also use Hunter to search the University's journal holdings and requests for articles can be made via our NHS article request service. This service allows us to send you up to ten PDFs of articles in our collection via email.
See below for more details.
NHS staff can use Hunter to search the University's journal holdings and requests for articles can be made via our NHS article request service. This service allows us to send you up to ten PDFs of articles in our collection via email.
If you are unable to find a journal article in our collections we may be able to obtain a copy for you from another library.
You’ll find the online form to request an inter-library loan in Hunter, sign in to activate the Request Interlibrary Loan link. The link which can be found in the top right hand corner will remain greyed out until you sign-in. The link will take you to an ILL form where you can submit a request. If you would like an article to be delivered directly to your email inbox, please make sure you select: Deliver to me electronically (Articles Only).
NHS staff are funded for 10 free interloans per year, further requests must be funded by an account code or cash/cheque payment. If you are paying for your ILL by account code, please enter the code in the Comment box. Cash payments must be made at the Library helpdesk (Monday to Friday, 8am-6pm).
You can receive your articles by email, see the helpsheet on receiving articles by e-mail - PDF below for instructions. If you have requested whole issues of journals you will be notified when your item arrives. They must be signed for and returned by the date shown on the slip inside. Certain items may not be removed from the Library - they will be marked 'restricted access' and kept at the Helpdesk.
Most journal requests usually arrive within 2-7 days. Please note, however, that supply times depend upon the organisation supplying the request, and this is not within our control.
For more information see the inter-library loans webpage.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) offers the ability to search aggregated open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.
Dimensions is a system allowing search and discovery of articles. The free to access version allows you to click through to OA articles and offers the ability to limit your search to only open access material.
Kopernio is a browser extension for Firefox and Google Chrome which can help you find open access versions of articles. You will need to register to use, though If you have institutional access to subscribed content, signing up with your university email will allow for enhanced searching.
OA DOI: If you know the DOI (digital object identifier) of the article you’re looking for, you can paste it onto the end of this web address https://oadoi.org/ to search for open access versions of the article.
Open Access Button: a similar tool to Unpaywall, this also allows you to search for an article directly from their website and request copies of articles from authors.
Before you search Google Scholar, you should select a library in the settings menu. Once you set and save your preferences, you will be able to link to OpenAthens resources retrieved with a Google Scholar search.
Click the menu icon:
If you have opened a HTML version, you can use your normal web browser options to print, save or email the article, these options are usually found in the File menu.
If you have opened a PDF version, use the icons on the toolbar within Adobe Reader to print, save or email.
If the article you need is not available via OpenAthens then you have two options:
The Nomad extension works whenever you visit one of a wide range of websites dedicated to published research, including individual journal websites, publisher websites and popular search options such as PubMed and Wikipedia. Nomad will match information about the content available through NHS OpenAthens at your trust - and open access content - with any article you find while online, and will provide corresponding access options.
Nomad can be installed in browsers including Chrome, Edge and Firefox, by visiting the download page. Once installed, set your organisation (eg St George's), and enjoy easy access to full text.
The Nomad extension will provide a direct link to an article pdf or the full text online where available, will check access options against OpenAthens (if you need to register for OpenAthens, you can do so online), or will provide you with the option to request a pdf copy of the article from the library.
Use the Trip Search engine for filtered high-quality health information. Premium content is only available when accessed via an NHS network
