Skip to main content
St George's University of London Logo

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
BMJ Best Practice is an online point of care tool that gives healthcare professionals fast and easy access to the latest information when making diagnosis and treatment decisions. Access via an OpenAthens account.

BMJ Best Practice NHS staff access - in the Library only
New
Emcare, produced by Elsevier, covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Emcare includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine from 1995 to present.
Emcare (Ovid) NHS staff access - requires an OpenAthens account
  • Freely available resource
New
Epistemonikos provides rapid access to systematic reviews in health. A unique feature of Epistemonikos is that it links together systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews and primary studies. Note that Epistemonikos is not a comprehensive database of health research - it only includes primary studies that have been included in a systematic review.
New
Global Health is a specialist database dedicated to public health, covering the following specialties: Community Health and Disease Prevention, Epidemiology, Infectious Diseases, Nutrition and Dietetics, Parasitology and Infectious Diseases.

Global Health (Ovid) offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password
New
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,400 specially commissioned, animated seminar-style talks, organised in series, subject categories and therapeutic areas. Topics range from the fundamentals of life sciences to the latest thinking in therapeutic interventions, from the level of the single molecule to entire populations. The collection is reviewed and updated monthly.

HSTalks – offsite access – log in using your SGUL username and password.
New Trial
JoVE makes and publishes videos of scientific experiments from international laboratories. St George’s University of London subscribes to the following 4 sections:
Biology, Immunology and infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience.
St George’s University of London also has trial access to 2 sections of Jove Science Education to 30 September 2019: Basic Biology and Clinical Skills.

JoVE - offsite access -
log in using your SGUL username and password.
New
Designed to assist doctors in training to prepare for membership examinations with current and relevant online revision courses. The question library includes thousands of MCQs for medical exams with explanatory answers based on typical exam themes and detailed score analysis to gauge performance.

You can have an OnExamination voucher giving you 2 months access to the site. We generally recommend you leave this until the final period before the exam. Contact the library for further information and to book a voucher.
New
OTDBase is a collection of over 10,000 abstracts from 27 key occupational therapy journals starting from 1970. It originates from Canada. Titles indexed include the American Journal of Occupational Therapy, British Journal of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy International.
Available onsite only
  • Freely available resource
New
REHABDATA describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...