St George's University of London Logo

Foundation degree healthcare practice and nursing associate students

A guide to SGUL library and information resources for students on the above courses

Information for Nursing and Healthcare Practice

It is important that you can find useful up-to-date information and evidence to support your studies. This page explores key resources and search tools that you can use to discover different types of information. It also provides guidance on how to access full-text e-books and online journals. This is not an exhaustive list and there may be other resources you can use.

The books below will give you a general introduction to nursing and the study skills you will need to develop throughout your course. Scroll through the collection using the arrows on the side. Select the title links to access the e-book.  You will find more advice on accessing books in the 'finding books' tab.

Useful books to get you started

Finding Information

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles. This page gives you an overview to searching Hunter. There's more information in the subsequent tabs.  Watch the video in the 'How to get the most out of Hunter' tab for further information.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site.  

4. Planning your search

You can search in many ways in Hunter, for example by typing in an essay title or a sentence, or picking out key words and concepts from your search topic.  For more tips on how to refine your search, that will work in both Hunter and other resources, go to the planning your search tab in the Online resources section of this guide.

The library has a wide range of nursing and healthcare practice books including many specialist areas. Use hunter to find and view all our ebooks  If the book record has a Full text available link this means that you can access an e-book version. Login with your SGUL username and password to view books online. This video shows you how to access e-books.

This first video shows you how to find and view full-text articles using the Hunter search tool. For more search tips on how to find relevant articles using Hunter, watch the video below:

This second video shows you how to access resources when you are off campus. You need your SGUL username and password. Sometimes there are different pathways to login to view full-text articles that the library subscribes to when you are at home. Always double check the guidance given by the library when you select an article to 'view online' to see if we recommend any extra steps to access the article that you want to view.

To save results in Hunter you first have to log in. At any time in Hunter, you can select 'Sign in' from the top right hand side of the page. Enter your SGUL username and password to login.

Once you have signed in you can save results to your e-shelf. To save articles and books to your e-shelf just click on the pin icon next to the item.

You can also save searches and return to them when you need to. After you have run a search, select the pin at the top of the results page to save your search. It will automatically save under the name of your search terms.

To view your saved results and searches, select the pin icon at the top of the page, next to the 'Sign in' link. This will take you to your e-shelf. You will need to be signed in to permanently save results and searches.

The following video will show you how to use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books and articles by title or topic.