St George's University of London Logo

Foundation degree healthcare practice and nursing associate students

A guide to SGUL library and information resources for students on the above courses

What are these resources and why should I use them?

Hunter is a great starting point for information, particularly books and journal articles, however there are other resources covering nursing and healthcare practice that contain quality information.  You can use these to supplement Hunter and widen the range of information you use for your assignments, which will help you to achieve better marks. 

Healthcare databases allow you to track down journal articles by topic and where possible link you to the whole article if the library has purchased that journal.  They offer a more comprehensive search than Hunter.  Other web resources provide links to guidelines in practice, which you may need to refer to.  The resources that we recommend for your studies can be found on this page.  All are available online; for many of them you will need to sign in with your SGUL username and password to access. 

Getting the information you need from the health databases

Before you start a literature search it's important to plan what steps you will take. Ask yourself:

Where is the best place to find information for your topic?

  • if you are searching for more general information or looking at the background of a topic, search for books and more using Hunter.
  • if you are searching for up-to-date journal articles, use Hunter or a specialist healthcare database. View the options below to select a suitable database or e-resource for your topic.

What are the limits of your search?

  • you may want to think about aspects of your search, such as date, language or geographical scope. Many search tools have features that allow you to refine your search.

Are there any research models you can use?

  • there are different models that can help you formulate a research topic. The most important step before you search is to plan your search. 

For more general advice on planning a literature search, select the next tab.

When you search Hunter, you can type in your whole essay title and get some results.  It is also possible to use a few words from your title.

Using a few words from your subject or topic will work in many resources, however it is important that you plan your search in a methodical way to find the most relevant sources of information, by using the most effective words.  These will vary for each individual search topic.

If you can, turn your search topic into a research question. This will help you to formulate a specific and targeted search. For example, the topic 'care of the dying' is quite broad, and you will find a lot of articles if you search for this topic.  Think about what aspect of 'care of the dying' you want to research, for example 

What is the role of the nurse in care of the dying in the hospice setting?

Deciding on a precise search topic is very important. From here, you can identify the key concepts in your search and come up with some alternative terms and keywords to search. Use the example table below as a guide. You might want to create your own table in a word document or on a piece of paper.

Write out your essay topic as a question:

What is the role of the nurse in care of the dying in the hospice setting?

Identify the important concepts in your questions and list any alternative terms underneath:

Keyword/concept:

Role of the nurse

Alternative terms:

Nursing role

Nurses

 

Keyword/concept:

Care of the dying

Alternative terms:

end of life care

palliative care

terminal care

Keyword:

hospice

Alternative terms:

residential care

care home

nursing home

Searching alternative terms will help you to find more results. Remember that searching is a process that develops and you may want to add or remove terms as you go along.  If your search doesn't work the first time, try some changes.

Information about the most useful resources for your course are listed in the box below.  Click on the name of the resource for further information.

A fulltext link normally takes you straight to the SGUL sign in screen where you put in your SGUL username and password to view the full text.  Occasionally you are taken to a different screen where the organisation providing the information resource asks you for more information before you are able to log in.  THe video below gives you some help with putting in the correct information in order to view the full text.

Which online learning resource?

Internurse is an online collection of mainly UK nursing articles.  All of them are available in full text.  These articles can also be found on Hunter, but using Internurse allows you to search a subset of journals on more specific subjects related to nursing.  The resource also has the option to select some journals on midwifery and allied health subjects. Log in using your SGUL username and password. Use the advice in the planning your search section above, to carry out your search. The following video guides you through accessing articles in Internurse.

NICE Evidence

Cite them right online offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

St George’s, University of London uses the publication Cite them Right (Pears, R. and Shields, G. (2019) Cite them right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. London: Palgrave) for all guidance on how to use Harvard.

SAGE Nursing Support

12 chapters from SAGE textbooks have been made freely available during the COVID-19 pandemic. The chapters can be accessed individually or downloaded in one combined document.
Topics covered include biological and pathological chapters, caring for adults with respiratory diseases, infection control, and managing the transition to professional practice - with reference to working under pressure and mindfulness.

This resource has been provided free of charge by the publisher/vendor for a limited & indefinite period during the covid-19 health crisis.

Nursing Standard - COVID-19

To support nurses during this challenging period, RCNi have developed a collection of free news and evidence-based resources relevant to the COVID-19 pandemic.

HEE e-LfH Resources for Nurses, Midwives and AHPs

Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH) has launched additional pathways to support Allied Health Professionals, Midwives and Nurses during the Covid-19 response. There are resources to support statutory and mandatory training, returning to work, being redeployed or up-skilled, newly registered professionals and students.

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy mobile and offsite access

Search for information on different parts of the human anatomy, including short videos.  To log in, select 'UK access management' for Federation and St George's, University of London as the institution, then use your SGUL username and password.
You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account

  • Freely available resource
 

Online videos demonstrating core clinical skills common to a wide range of medical and health-based courses. From the e-Learning Unit at SGUL.

BNI - British Nursing Index

This is a nursing and midwifery database mainly indexing journals published in the UK, plus other English-language journals including international nursing and midwifery journals. There is also selective content from medical, allied health and management journals.
Log in using your SGUL username and password.
TIps on how to do a basic search can be found here
TIps on how to do a more advanced search can be found here.  Advanced search is usually the best way to obtain good articles from this database.

There are a wide range of databases and e-resources, both subscription and free, that the Library subscribes to or recommends.  To see the full list for Nursing, click here.

Cinahl Plus (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). This contains abstracts of a wide range of journal articles which are primarily concerned with nursing.  Approximately 35% of articles are related to allied health disciplines.  This may be useful for more in depth searches, for example if you are doing a research project, rather than a single assignment.  You may need to use this database if you continue your studies to level 6.  Log in using your SGUL username and password.

Don't forget that professional organisations such as the Royal College of Nursing may have some useful information, particularly discussion about current news and situations which affect your profession.  Individuals may publish blogs and use other social media platforms, however please remember to evaluate the information with caution, and use the Evaluating information model in this libguide.