Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Midwifery Subject Guide: Online Teaching and Learning Resources

A guide to library and information resources for midwifery students

A-Z Databases

We have collected together a list of online teaching and learning resources that have either been purchased or made available during the Covid-19 pandemic.

 

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy mobile and offsite access

Select 'UK access management' for Federation and St George's, University of London as the institution.
You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account

 

BMJ Best Practice offsite access

Log in via Shibboleth using your SGUL username and password.

 

BNI - British Nursing Index offsite access

Nursing and midwifery database mainly indexing journals published in the UK, plus other English-language journals including international nursing and midwifery journals. Also indexes selective content from medical, allied health and management journals. Log in using your SGUL username and password.

 

Books@Ovid offsite access

Requires login using SGUL username and password.

 

CINAHL Plus (EBSCO) offsite access

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Primarily concerned with nursing, but approximately 35% of articles are related to allied health disciplines.

 

Cite them right online offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

St George’s, University of London uses the publication Cite them Right (Pears, R. and Shields, G. (2019) Cite them right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. London: Palgrave) for all guidance on how to use Harvard. It also contains information on the Vancouver system, and some other popular referencing systems.

 

HEE e-LfH Resources for Nurses, Midwives and AHPs

Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH) has launched additional pathways to support Allied Health Professionals, Midwives and Nurses during the Covid-19 response. There are resources to support statutory and mandatory training, returning to work, being redeployed or up-skilled, newly registered professionals and students.

 

Intermid offsite access

An online archive of peer-reviewed articles from the British Journal of Midwifery, the UK's leading clinical journal for midwives and the African Journal of Midwifery and Women's Health. The site contains all articles published in the journals since 1996.

 

Internurse

The UK's largest online archive of nursing articles.

 

Maternity & Infant Care (Ovid) offsite access

From the Midwives Information and Resource Service. For maternity health professionals with an overview of key midwifery and medical research to inform their practice.

 

Medline (EBSCO) offsite access

From US National Library of Medicine. Covers clinical medicine, including the allied health fields. Includes biological and physical sciences and humanities where they relate to health care.

 

RefWorks - SGUL staff and students

In order to produce accurate references, you’ll need to record the details of all the information you find. Reference management software can help you manage your sources. At St George’s, we have an institutional subscription to the reference management tool RefWorks (available to St George’s, University of London staff and students only).

 

SAGE Nursing Support

12 chapters from SAGE textbooks have been made freely available during the COVID-19 pandemic. The chapters can be accessed individually or downloaded in one combined document.
Topics covered include biological and pathological chapters, caring for adults with respiratory diseases, infection control, and managing the transition to professional practice - with reference to working under pressure and mindfulness.
This resource has been provided free of charge by the publisher/vendor for a limited & indefinite period during the covid-19 health crisis.