Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Occupational Therapy Subject Guide: Online Teaching and Learning Resources

A guide to library and information resources for Occcupational Therapy students

A-Z Databases

We have collected together a list of online teaching and learning resources that have either been purchased or made available during the Covid-19 pandemic.

 

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy mobile and offsite access

Select 'UK access management' for Federation and St George's, University of London as the institution.
You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account

 

AMED (EBSCO) offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database. Bibliographic database produced by the British Library. Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

 

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - offsite access

This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals from more than 16 countries.

 

Books@Ovid offsite access

Requires login using SGUL username and password.

 

CINAHL Plus (EBSCO) offsite access

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Primarily concerned with nursing, but approximately 35% of articles are related to allied health disciplines.

 

Cite them right online offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

St George’s, University of London uses the publication Cite them Right (Pears, R. and Shields, G. (2019) Cite them right: the essential referencing guide. 11th edn. London: Palgrave) for all guidance on how to use Harvard. It also contains information on the Vancouver system, and some other popular referencing systems.

 

Ebook Central e-books offsite access

ProQuest has partnered with more than 150 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June.

The enhanced access to these e-books has been provided free of charge by the publisher/vendor for a limited & indefinite period during the covid-19 health crisis.

 

HEE e-LfH Resources for Nurses, Midwives and AHPs

Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH) has launched additional pathways to support Allied Health Professionals, Midwives and Nurses during the Covid-19 response. There are resources to support statutory and mandatory training, returning to work, being redeployed or up-skilled, newly registered professionals and students.

 

JoVE Science Education - offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

JoVE Science Education is a library of video demonstrations covering a wide range of subjects in science and medicine. St George’s University of London has trial access until 30th September 2020 to:

Science Education Advanced Biology
Science Education Basic Biology
Science Education Clinical Skills
Science Education Physics
Science Education Psychology
St George’s University of London also has trial access until 30th June 2020 to:
Core Biology

 

Medline (EBSCO) offsite access

From US National Library of Medicine. Covers clinical medicine, including the allied health fields. Includes biological and physical sciences and humanities where they relate to health care.

 

OT Seeker

From a team from two Australian universities. A collection of abstracts of systematic reviews and rated & appraised randomised control trials, relevant to occupational therapy.

 

 

PEDro

Physiotherapy Evidence Database. Bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

 

RefWorks - SGUL staff and students

In order to produce accurate references, you’ll need to record the details of all the information you find. Reference management software can help you manage your sources. At St George’s, we have an institutional subscription to the reference management tool RefWorks (available to St George’s, University of London staff and students only).