Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Nursing and Healthcare Practice Subject Guide: Finding Information

A guide to library and information resources for nursing and healthcare practice students

Information for Nursing and Healthcare Practice

It is important that you can find useful up-to-date information and evidence to support your studies. This page explores key resources and search tools that you can use to discover different types of information. It also provides guidance on how to access full-text e-books and online journals. This is not an exhaustive list and there may be other resources you can use.

The books below will give you a general introduction to nursing and the study skills you will need to develop throughout your course. Scroll through the collection using the arrows on the side. Select the title links to access the e-book.  You will find more advice on accessing books in the 'finding books' tab.

Useful books to get you started

Finding information

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles. This page gives you an overview to searching Hunter. There's more information in the subsequent tabs.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site.  

Databases and e-resources

Healthcare databases allow you to track-down journal articles by topic and where possible link you to the whole article if the library owns it in its collection. They offer a more comprehensive search than Hunter. Key databases for your subject include

This video shows you how to access resources when you are off campus. You need your SGUL username and password.


Click here for a full list of recommended databases for nursing and healthcare practice in our A-Z guide.


We also provide access to evidence-based healthcare resources such as:


To find these and more and to see the offsite access links, visit our Databases page.  If you know which resource you are looking for, use the A-Z list to navigate to it. You can also browse databases by speciality or resource type. When you have selected a resource, choose the appropriate on-site (no login required) or off-site (university login required) link to access it.

The library has a wide range of nursing and healthcare practice books including many specialist areas. If the book record has a Full text available link this means that you can access an e-book version. Login with your SGUL username and password to view books online. This video shows you how to access e-books.

Nursing books can also be located on the shelves starting at call number WY although there will be many relevant books that are found at different places in the library.

The call number is the series of letters and numbers on the spine of the book that helps you to find it in the library:

To comprehensively search for a book in the library use Hunter to search the library catalogue at Books and More. Click on Check availability of print copies to see where the book is located in the Library. The video below shows you how to find a book using Hunter and how to locate it on the shelf.

This first video shows you how to find and view full-text articles using the Hunter search tool. For more search tips on how to find relevant articles using Hunter, watch the video below:


This second video shows you how to access resources when you are off campus. You need your SGUL username and password. Sometimes there are different pathways to login to view full-text articles that the library subscribes to when you are at home. Always double check the guidance given by the library when you select an article to 'view online' to see if we recommend any extra steps to access the article that you want to view.

This section offers a list of other libraries and professional organisations that provide access to information and study spaces.