Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Workforce Development Library Guide: Hunter and study skills

A guide to library resources for Workforce Development students

Hunter and St George's Library

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles. This page gives you an overview to searching Hunter. There's more information in the subsequent tabs or read our guide to searching Hunter.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site.  

The library has a wide range of nursing, midwifery, healthcare practice and allied health books including many specialist areas. If the book record has a Full text available link this means that you can access an e-book version. Login with your SGUL username and password to view books online. The following video guides you through accessing e-books or read our guide to searching Hunter.

When searching for a book in Hunter, take note of the call number to locate the book in the library.

The call number is the series of letters and numbers on the spine of the book that helps you to find it in the library.

To comprehensively search for a book in the library use Hunter to search the library catalogue at 'Books and more'. Click on Check availability of print copies to see where the book is located in the Library. Our guide to searching Hunter has more information.

This video shows you how to locate a book in the library using the call number.

We have also produced a short video on how to place a hold on a book that is on loan.

To find journal articles using Hunter, select 'articles and more'. You should have full text access to articles found through Hunter. Most will be available online, although we do have a small collection of paper journals available in the library. You will find this collection towards the silent study area of the library, opposite the research enquiries desk.

Select 'view online' to view the full text of an article. Sometimes there are different pathways to login to view full-text articles that the library subscribes to when you are at home. Always double check the guidance given by the library when you select an article to 'view online' to see if we recommend any extra steps to access the article that you want to view.

Read our guide to searching Hunter for more guidance on finding and accessing journal titles and articles.

 

The following video shows you how to find journal articles in Hunter.

The video below shows you how to access electronic resources when you are away from St George's. You need your SGUL username and password.

To save results in Hunter you first have to log in. At any time in Hunter, you can select 'Sign in' from the top right hand side of the page. Enter your you SGUL username and password to login.

Once you have signed in you can save results to your e-shelf. To save articles and book to your e-shelf just click on the pin icon next to the item.

You can also save searches and return to them when you need to. After you have run a search, select the pin at the top of the results page to save your search. It will automatically save under the name of your search terms.

To view your saved results and searches, select the pin icon at the top of the page, next to the 'Sign in' link. This will take you to your e-shelf. You will need to be signed in to permanently save results and searches.

Study skills

The books below will give you an introduction to the study skills you will need to develop throughout your course. Scroll through the collection using the arrows on the side. Select the title links to access the e-book, where available, or use the call number to find the book on the library shelves. You will find more advice on accessing books in the 'finding books' tab.