St George's University of London Logo

Healthcare & Biomedical Education Subject Guide

A guide to library and information resources for healthcare and biomedical education students

Finding information

Image of book being pulled off a shelf, overlayed with text reading 'finding information'

You'll be expected to use a wide variety of information sources for your academic study and assignments.

See below for a list of key resources for Healthcare and Biomedical Education topics.

Useful books to get you started

Finding information

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site. 

 

Databases and e-resources

Healthcare databases allow you to track-down journal articles by topic and where possible link you to the whole article if the library owns it in its collection. They offer a more comprehensive search than Hunter.

We provide access to 100+ databases at St George's, most of which cover specialist medicine, healthcare and biomedical science topics. We've outlined below some key resources for students looking for healthcare and biomedical education research. For access to databases like Medline, EMBASE, CINAHL and PsycINFO see our A-Z Databases page.

NEW
January 2020: We've recently purchased access to a range of databases which specialise in Education research. You can find a list of these resources below.

You might also want to explore free to access resources such as:

To find these and more and to see the offsite access links, visit our Databases page.  If you know which resource you are looking for, use the A-Z list to navigate to it. You can also browse databases by speciality or resource type. When you have selected a resource, choose the appropriate on-site (no login required) or off-site (university login required) link to access it.

Books are organised on the library shelves using the National Library of Medicine classification system, made up of a series of letters and numbers.

A typical shelf mark - or call number - looks something like this:

There are a range of call numbers running from A-Z, however you will find the majority begin with a Q or a W. We've highlighted a few examples of the types of topics that will be help for Healthcare and Biomedical Education students. You can find a full list of these topics at the ends of the library shelves.

H Social Sciences

LB Theory and Practice of Education

LC Special Aspects of Education

 

QA Mathematics (Statistics)

W General Medicine / Health Professions

WA Public Health

WB Practice of Medicine

WY Nursing

 

flag Resource Lists

Note: Your lecturers will provide lists of recommended resources in Canvas.

The majority of our journal articles are available online, although we do have a number of print journals available for reference. These can be found in the rolling stacks based in the smaller silent study section of the library.

The most effective way to search our subscriptions is to use Hunter; just enter keywords relating to your topic and select 'Articles and more' from the drop-down menu to get started. A step-by-step guide to finding articles can be found here.

However, if you are carrying out a large research project or a literature review, you'll need to use more sophisticated search tools (such as Ovid or EBSCOhost) to carry out more detailed literature searches. Our Principles of effective literature searching guide provides a useful introduction to the search process, and you can always book yourself on to one of our training sessions if you feel you need more support.

The 'Key databases and e-resources' tab to left highlights some of our recommendations for Healthcare and Biomedical Education students. However, as the University has a specialised collection of healthcare and medical journals, we realise it can be difficult drilling down to locate resources on broader topics like education.

To help you to find the most relevant resources, we've identified a number of key journal titles which you'll be able to view in the table below. We've also listed our holdings for these particular titles, and highlighted the databases in which they are indexed to help you in planning your search strategies.

flag Offsite access

Note: If you're accessing online resources offsite, you will be asked for a username and password. Use the SGUL username and password that you use to access the University computers.

The log in page can look different depending on the supplier of the article, but will usually refer to an 'institutional login'. You will normally need to select your location (e.g. UK Access Management Federation) and then select your 'institution'. Remember to look for 'St George's, University of London'.

This might also be referred to as a 'Shibboleth' login - again, just use your SGUL username and password when prompted.

Online Resources

Libraries

Websites