LibGuides: Allied Health Professionals NHS Library Guide: Evidence-Based Practice

Evidence-Based Healthcare

Resources

Trip Database
Turning Research into Practice (TRIP) describes itself as "a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence". Users can search across systematic reviews, clinical trials, guidelines, evidence synopses and primary research. It pulls in content from a number of sources including Cochrane, NICE, PubMed, BMJ, The Lancet and many more.
more...less...
Best For: Complex searches, filtering evidence types, ease of use.

The following resources feature local (UK) and global guidance information

NICE Guidelines
NICE are an independent public body that provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care in England. NICE produce evidence-based recommendations on a broad range of topics and will set out the care and services suitable for most people with a specific condition or need. Guidelines recommendations are in the main for individual health and social care practitioners, although some are for local authorities, commissioners and managers, and cover planning, commissioning and improving services. While others are for providers (organisations providing services), schools, and local and national organisations and partnerships in the public, private and voluntary sectors.
more...less...
Best For: Practice guidelines, Practice pathways, Patient Information, Recommeded treatment options.
SIGN
Operating since 1993 the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN) is a collaborative initiative developing and disseminating national clinical guidelines containing recommendations based on the latest evidence to promote good clinical practice and to improve the quality of health care for patients in Scotland by reducing variation in practice and outcome.
more...less...
Best For: Practice guidelines, Decision making, Patient Information
Guidelines International Network
Guidelines International network, G-I-N, is a global network founded in 2002 it seeks to support evidence based healthcare and improved health outcomes by reducing inappropriate variation throughout the world, and by promoting systematic development clinical practice guidelines and their application into practice. G-I-N collects member network guidance within the International Guideline Library.
more...less...
Full text is restricted to paying members, however title, date and organisation information is provided with each entry. Best for: International practice guidelines, networks and collaboration
JRCALC Clinical Practice Guidelines 2016
Guidelines for Ambulance Services JRCALC Clinical Practice Guidelines 2016.

The Cochrane Library
Cochrane produce high-quality, relevant and up to date systematic reviews and other synthesized research evidence. Each review addresses a clearly formulated question using all of the best available primary research evidence and published in the Cochrane Library. The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Access to the database is free for UK based users.
more...less...
Best For: Systematic reviews, trials register, evidence summaries
National Institute of Health Research
The NIHR Discover Portal is the home of NIHR Signals – summaries of the most important health research funded by the NIHR and others. New Signals are published every week to add to a library of over 500.
more...less...
People can also sign up to a mailing list to have NIHR Signals in their area of interest sent to them at the end of every month. There are Themed reviews published on the website, which bring together NIHR research around a particular theme and Highlights, which explore at conditions, treatments and issues using research evidence.
Clinicial Knowledge Summaries
NICE CKS service provides primary care practitioners with a readily accessible summary of the current evidence base and practical guidance on best practice in respect of over 330 common and/or significant primary care presentations.
Drug and Therapeutics Bulletin (DTB)
Provides rigorous and independent evaluations of and practical advice on the treatment and management of disease for healthcare professionals.
more...less...
Best For: Reviews, summaries, case reports
BESTBets
Rapid best evidence answers to clinical questions in Emergency Medicine.

BMJ Case Reports
Largest international, peer-reviewed collection of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals can easily find clinical information on common and rare conditions.

To submit cases to BMJ Case Reports please contact liaison@sgul.ac.uk for the St George's University Institutional Fellowship code.

The following resources can be used to source general and medical images and multimedia.

When using images from the internet it is important to check copyright permissions, licensing and terms of use associated with the work. The following sources feature copyright cleared or Creative Commons licensed images, please ensure that acknowledgment or credit to the content creator is given and/or attribution of the source where required. If in doubt always assume that all images online are protected by copyright unless there is evidence to the contrary.

More information can be found at Best practices for attribution and The BIPP Guide to Using Images

Creative commons search
A portal with links to websites for good quality images with CC license for unrestricted use. NB You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.
Trip Pro
You can search for medical images using Trip Pro. To find images: run a search, then select Images. A useful filter is the "Only show images that are free to share, modify or use" tickbox.
Wellcome Collection
Find thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs.
Wikimedia Commons
An online repository of free-use images, sounds, and other media files.
Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine collection provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Flickr
Image and video hosting and sharing website.
XPERT Image Attribution
Xpert Image Attribution search allows you search and find images that are stored in Flickr that are either in the public domain or licenced with a creative commons licence. Selected images can then be saved or exported with a licence statement added to the bottom of the image.
everystockphoto
Free photo search engine, each image is however license-specific. You can view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon.

The following sites contain photos which can be used for free under a CC0 licence. You may use them for commercial and non-commercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or the website

Disclaimer: The information provided in this guide is intended as general guidance to copyright issues when using images from the web. The authors assume no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in the content of this guide.

Department of Health	https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-of-health/about/statistics
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES)	https://digital.nhs.uk/data-and-information/data-tools-and-services/data-services/hospital-episode-statistics
National archive	https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Health and Social Care Information Centre	https://www.hscic.gov.uk/pubs/calendar
Office of Health Economics	https://www.ohe.org/health-data-and-statistics/
Office of National Statistics (ONS)	www.ons.gov.uk
Nuffield Trust	http://www.nuffieldtrust.org.uk/nhs-numbers
British Heart Foundation	www.heartstats.org
Cancer Research UK	http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/health-professional/data-and-statistics
NHS Digital	https://digital.nhs.uk/
NHS England	http://www.england.nhs.uk/statistics/
Public Health England	https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics?departments%5B%5D=public-health-england
King's Fund	https://www.kingsfund.org.uk/
Trauma Audit & Research Network	https://www.tarn.ac.uk/
The Health Foundation	http://www.health.org.uk/

International & Global

Global Health Facts	http://kff.org/global-health-policy/
OECD	http://www.oecd.org/statistics/
United Nations	http://unstats.un.org/unsd/
WHO	http://www.who.int/gho/en/
CDC	http://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/

CHAIN - Contact, Help, Advice and Information Network
CHAIN is an online support network for people working in health and social care. Allowing members a means to exchange ideas and share knowledge.
NICE Local Practice Shared Learning
The NICE database of shared learning examples showing how NICE guidance and standards have been put into practice by a range of health, local government and social care organisations.
NHS Networks
NHS Networks is a free resource which aims to get professionals together to share ideas and improve the health service.
NHS Sustainable Improvement
NHS England's Sustainable Improvement team provide evidence-based, quality improvement support.

Detailed information and additional resources can be found in our specialist Quality Improvement guide.

Quality Improvement