LibGuides: Medicine Subject Guide: Resources for Learning and Revision

Accessing resources

The library subscribes to a number of resources that will help you with your learning and revision. The Liaison Team also has a series of How To videos, which can help you to navigate your way around the resources and introduce you to their key features.

Check out the resources and videos below.

If you would like to see a video for a particular resource, please email the Liaison Team.

Offsite access

Note: If you're accessing online resources offsite, you will be asked for a username and password. Use the St George's username and password that you use to access the University computers.

The log in page can look different depending on the supplier of the article, but will usually refer to an 'institutional login'. You will normally need to select your location (e.g. UK Access Management Federation) and then select your 'institution'. Remember to look for 'St George's, University of London'.

This might also be referred to as a 'Shibboleth' login - again, just use your St George's username and password when prompted.

Databases and e-resources

AccessCardiology (McGraw-Hill) - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
AccessCardiology includes access to e-books, cases, videos, and Q&As in the field of cardiology in areas such as interventional cardiology and electrophysiology.
AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill) - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
AccessMedicine includes access to 130+ e-books organised by basic sciences,
clinical medicine, and healthcare systems. The AccessMedicine resource also includes access to cases, videos, and Q&As.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
An accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals. You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account
BMJ Best Practice - onsite access This link opens in a new window
Onsite access from St George's PCs and library laptops
From the BMJ, a single source combining the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Integrated Drug formulary enables you to quickly access detailed information on dosing, availability, formulations, side effects and contraindications in the BNF (via MedicinesComplete).
BMJ Best Practice Mobile App helpsheet PDF - available to SGUL staff and students only
BMJ Case Reports - onsite access This link opens in a new window
Onsite access from St George's PCs and library laptops
From the BMJ. The largest single collection of case reports online (in all disciplines), with more than 3350 articles from over 70 countries. For author submissions to Case Reports, please email journals@sgul.ac.uk for the Fellowship Code
BNF (MedicinesComplete) - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
British National Formulary. Provides healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines.
ClinicalKey Student - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
A collection of textbooks covering clinical specialties and physiotherapy, including Grays Anatomy for Students, Medical Physiology and Tidy's Physiotherapy.
You will need to create an account the first time you sign in, which is subject to the Elsevier Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.
Complete Anatomy - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
Complete Anatomy is a 3D anatomy platform including models and videos, with an extensive library of structures and muscle movements. Complete Anatomy is a 3D Anatomy app that can be downloaded from the app store on your device.

An activation code is required for full access to the app:
SGUL Students - access information can be obtained in the SGUL Library Canvas module

SGUL Staff - please email the library team to request the staff activation code

Use of Complete Anatomy is subject to the Complete Anatomy Terms of Use and Privacy Policy, consent to these terms is inferred by use of the resource.

SGUL staff may create and share content via Complete Anatomy, and track student engagement and attainment with this content. This may include lectures, screens and quizzes on the Complete Anatomy platform. Interactions with this content are tracked in the Complete Anatomy platform and a digital record is created which SGUL staff can use to review student attainment in quizzes at both an individual and cohort level. These records may be used by SGUL staff to inform curriculum planning and could be exported to use in student records.

For support with access to library resources, please email journals@sgul.ac.uk
JoVE Science Education - St George's students and staff This link opens in a new window
St George's username and password required for access
JoVE Science Education is a library of video demonstrations covering a wide range of subjects in science and medicine. Includes sections on: Basic and Advanced Biology, Chemistry, Clinical Skills, Psychology, and more.
LWW Health Library Medical Education Collection - onsite access This link opens in a new window
Onsite access from St George's PCs and library laptops
Includes access to key texts, videos, cases and questions in the following collections:
Medical Education (Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology/Immunology, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Physical Examination, Physiology and more)
Occupational Therapy (Assessment, Foundations, Kinesiology and Biomechanics, Theory, Neuroscience and more)
To access personalised features such as bookmarking and quizzes you will need to register for a personal account after you have logged in via Shibboleth
Oxford University Press E-books (Oxford Academic) - onsite access This link opens in a new window
Onsite access from St George's PCs and library laptops
Access e-books from the Oxford Medicine and Oxford Clinical Psychology collections.
The Oxford Medicine collection is where you can access the electronic version of many key texts such as the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine and Oxford Textbook of Medicine.
The Oxford Clinical Psychology collection provides access to over 300 titles in clinical psychology, covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities.