Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Paramedic and emergency healthcare subject guide

A guide to library and information resources for paramedic students and students who need information on emergency medicine and healthcare

Information for Paramedic and emergency healthcare

It is important that you can find useful up-to-date information and evidence to support your studies. This page explores key resources and search tools that you can use to discover different types of information. It also provides guidance on how to access full-text e-books and online journals. This is not an exhaustive list and there may be other resources you can use.

The books below will give you a general introduction to paramedic science, emergency healthcare and the study skills you will need to develop throughout your course. Scroll through the collection using the arrows on the side. Select the title links to access the e-book, where available, or use the call number to find the book on the library shelves. You will find more advice on accessing books in the 'finding books' tab.

Useful books to get you started

Finding Information

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles. This page gives you an overview to searching Hunter. There's more information in the subsequent tabs.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site. 

Databases and e-resources

Healthcare databases allow you to track-down journal articles by topic and where possible link you to the whole article if the library owns it in its collection. They offer a more comprehensive search than Hunter. Key databases for paramedic and emergency healthcare are listed below, as well as related databases such as evidence based healthcare and anatomy.

There are three main companies that provide most of the Library's databases, which means that certain databases have the same look and feel.

Databases provided by Ebsco are Cinahl, Medline and Amed.

Databases provided by Ovid include PsycInfo and Embase - see our Ovid Search Guide for more information.

Databases provided by Proquest include Assia and BNI - see the Assia libguide and the BNI libguide provided by Proquest.

Click here for a full list of recommended databases for paramedic and other allied health professions in our Allied Health guide

Scroll down the screen for further types of databases, eg anatomy and evidence-based, that may be useful for paramdic and emergency healthcare.

The library has a wide range of books relating to the field of paramedic science and emergency medicine. If the book record has a Full text available link this means that you can access an e-book version. Login with your SGUL username and password to view books online. The following video guides you through accessing e-books.

General paramedic/emergency care books can also be located on the shelves starting at call number WB 105 although there will be many relevant books that are found at different places in the library.

The call number is the series of letters and numbers on the spine of the book that helps you to find it in the library:

To comprehensively search for a book in the library use Hunter to search the library's book collection at Books and more.  Click on Check availability of print copies to see where the book is located in the Library.   The video below shows you how to find a book using Hunter and how to locate it on the shelf.

Read our guide to searching Hunter to discover how to find and view full-text articles using the Hunter search tool.

Sometimes there are different pathways to login to view full-text articles that the library subscribes to when you are at home. Always double check the guidance given by the library when you select an article to 'view online' to see if we recommend any extra steps to access the article that you want to view.


All the core paramedic and emergency healthcare journals can be accessed offsite using your standard SGUL network login. A few journals in our collection do not allow you to login with your SGUL username and password for full text. Sign in to the SGUL portal to view log in details for these journals.

This video shows you how to find and access journal articles using Hunter.

As you progress through your course you will need to conduct more in depth searching for information on specific topics, particularly for your dissertation or literature review

You will need to use a range of resources for a thorough search for journal articles.  The main resources are listed in the key databases and e-resources tab.

There are three main companies that provide most of the Library's databases, which means that certain databases have the same look and feel

Databases provided by Ebsco are Cinahl, Medline and Amed

Databases provided by Ovid include PsycInfo and Embase - see our Ovid Search Guide for more information

Databases provided by Proquest include Assia and BNI - see the Assia libguide and the BNI libguide provided by Proquest

This section offers a list of other libraries and professional organisations that provide access to information and study spaces.

How to access health databases and resources off-site

Paramedic and emergency healthcare subject databases

CINAHL Plus / CINAHL (EBSCO) onsite access

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Primarily concerned with nursing, but approximately 35% of articles are related to allied health disciplines.
CINAHL Plus (EBSCO) offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password
 

AMED (EBSCO) onsite access

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database. Bibliographic database produced by British Library. Covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

AMED offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

Allied Health Professionals offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password

Online archive to paramedic and other selected AHP journals including full text access to the Journal of Paramedic Practice.

Medline (EBSCO) onsite access

From US National Library of Medicine. Covers clinical medicine, including the allied health fields. Includes biological and physical sciences and humanities where they relate to health care.
Medline (EBSCO) offsite access - log in using your SGUL username and password.

PsycINFO (Ovid)

Compiled by the American Psychological Association. Contains relevant material from medicine, psychiatry, social work, law, criminology, social science and organisational behaviour.
PsycINFO (Ovid) offsite access - requires login using SGUL username and password.
 

Anatomy databases

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is an accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals.

Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy mobile and offsite access

Select 'UK access management' for Federation and St George's, University of London as the institution.

You can access the exams (the quiz section) and save your favourites by registering for a personal account

 

Evidence based practice databases

We provide access to evidence-based healthcare resources such as:

BNF

British National Formulary. Provides healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines.

BNF via NICE - Freely available.
A BNF and BNFC app is also available from NICE, subject to terms and conditions.

BNF via Medicines Complete
SGUL staff and students access via the Drug database in BMJ Best Practice - Log in via Shibboleth using your SGUL username and password.

Covid-19 resources

BMJ Learning - COVID-19 Supporting online courses

In response to the rapidly evolving challenges posed by COVID-19, BMJ Learning are providing free access to their most relevant CPD online courses to update and refresh clinical knowledge for those supporting our healthcare systems in the fight against COVID-19. You will need to register for a free BMJ Learning account for access. Courses are available in: Covid-19 treatment, Fast tracked students; Return to practice; Wellbeing.

Health Education England - e-learning Resources on COVID-19

A regularly updated list of e-learning opportunities to support front-line NHS staff during the COVID-19 outbreak. Contains generic as well as healthcare group-specific free learning material.