St George's University of London Logo

NHS Library Essentials

A guide to library services and key resources for NHS staff

Accessing online resources

Some resources listed on this page will require you to login using your OpenAthens username and password, others are freely available on the web.

Register for, or manage, your OpenAthens account here.

Email liaison@sgul.ac.uk if you encounter problems with accessing any of these resources.

OpenAthens authenticated resources

 

 

BMJ Best Practice

 

 

A decision support tool that offers a step-by-step approach to help manage patient diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention

BMJ Case Reports

Largest international, peer-reviewed collection of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals can easily find clinical information on common and rare conditions.

Drug and Therapeutics Bulletin (DTB)

Provides rigorous and independent evaluations of, and practical advice on the treatment and management of disease for healthcare professionals.

Medicines Complete

Medicines Complete now provides electronic access to both the BNF and BNFC.

Freely available online resources

The Cochrane Library

Freely available database of systematic reviews and clinical trials

NICE Evidence Search

NICE Evidence Search (formerly NHS Evidence) works as a search engine providing easy access to evidence based resources, including Medicines Information, Public Health and QIPP resources.  With no password required in can be a very good place to start researching a topic.

NICE Pathways

New online tool provides quick and easy access, topic by topic, to the range of guidance from NICE, including quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance and NICE implementation tools.

Trip Database

Turning Research into Practice (TRIP) is a bibliographic database bringing together online evidence-based healthcare resources.