It is important that you can find useful up-to-date information and evidence to support your studies. This page explores key resources and search tools that you can use to discover different types of information. It also provides guidance on how to access full-text e-books and online journals. This is not an exhaustive list and there may be other resources you can use.
The books below will give you a general introduction to occupational therapy and the study skills you will need to develop throughout your course. Scroll through the collection using the arrows on the side. Select the title links to access the e-book, where available, or use the call number to find the book on the library shelves. You will find more advice on accessing books in the 'finding books' tab.
Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool, to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles. This page gives you an overview to searching Hunter. There's more information in the subsequent tabs.
To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.
Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these.
In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.
To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site.
This video shows you how to access resources when you are off campus. You need your SGUL username and password.
The library has a wide range of books relating to the field of occupational therapy. If the book record has a Full text available link this means that you can access an e-book version. Login with your SGUL username and password to view books online. The following video guides you through accessing e-books.
General occupational therapy books can also be located on the shelves at call number WB 555 although there will be many relevant books that are found at different places in the library.
The call number is the series of letters and numbers on the spine of the book that helps you to find it in the library:
To comprehensively search for a book in the library use Hunter to search the library's book collection at Books and more. Click on Check availability of print copies to see where the book is located in the Library. The video below shows you how to find a book using Hunter and how to locate it on the shelf.
This video shows you how to find and access journal articles using Hunter.
As you progress through your course you will need to conduct more in depth searching for information on specific topics, particularly for your dissertation or literature review
You will need to use a range of resources for a thorough search for journal articles. The main resources are listed in the key databases and e-resources tab.
There are three main companies that provide most of the Library's databases, which means that certain databases have the same look and feel
Databases provided by Ebsco are Cinahl, Medline and Amed
Databases provided by Ovid include PsycInfo and Embase - see our Ovid Search Guide for more information