Skip to main content
St George's University of London Logo

Library Essentials - get started with using the library: Useful Apps

A guide for students

Apps for mobile devices

Below are our suggestions for apps that may be helpful to you while you are studying at St George's.

Healthcare Apps

Dynamed Plus logoDynamed Plus

DynaMed Plus is a point of care resource that brings together the latest evidence to support clinical decision making. It covers over 3,400 clinical topics. PDF guide to downloading DynaMed Plus

 

BMJ Best Practice

From the BMJ, a single source combining the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. PDF guide to downloading BMJ Best Practice app

 

BNF and BNFc

British National Formulary. Provides healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines. The BNFc provides up-to-date information on the use of medicines for treating children. Available for iOS and Android.

 

Study Apps

Canvas

Access your course materials, timetables and assessment feedback on your VLE. App version of Canvas available for iOS and Android.

 

Outlook 365

St George's, University of London students and staff can download free copies of the Microsoft Office apps on up to 5 devices.

Note: the software is valid for as long as the user has a valid SGUL account, and will stop working once the account is closed, i.e when the student or staff member leaves the university. Download Microsoft Office 365 for free - PDF
 

Forest Stay Focused

Keep on track with your work with this productivity app. Read our student review. Available for iOS and Android.

 

Mobile-friendly websites and resources

Library Website

For quick access to Hunter, your Library account and Library databases.

Acland's Anatomy

An accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals. Find out more here.

Oxford Medicine Online

Extensive selection of e-books, including Oxford Handbooks. If you are connected to eduroam, you won't need to login for access.

Cite Them Right Online

Online guide to Harvard style referencing.

NICE Evidence

Provides access to the best evidence based resources, especially good for guidelines and reviews.

Cochrane Library

Consists of several databases supporting evidence-based medicine, including: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

JoVE

The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) makes and publishes videos of scientific experiments from international laboratories.

HSTalks

HSTalks offers over 2,400 specially commissioned, animated seminar-style talks, organised in series, subject categories and therapeutic areas.