Zotero Reference Manager

This section details the powerful citation and bibliography functions that Zotero provides when using word processors. All examples in the guide below are from Microsoft Word, though functionality is the same for LibreOffice and Google Docs.

This section outlines:

1. How to set up Zotero extension in Microsoft Word and how to select a citation style
2. How to create in-text citations in Word from a Zotero library
3. How to automatically create a bibliography from works cited in the document

In order to use Zotero extension, you must have a Zotero account (register here) and be logged in on the desktop app. Information on how to do this is outlined in the "Home" tab to the left.

Setting up the Zotero extension in Word

By default, the extension should be installed on compatible word processors the first time Zotero is installed.

If it is not installed, it can be installed through the Zotero desktop app:

1. From the "Edit" drop-down in the top left, select "Preferences"
2. Select the "Cite Tab", then the tab "Word Processors"
3. Install the extension for the desired word processor.

The "Zotero" tab in Microsoft Word should now be visible:

From here the extensions functions can be accessed:

1. Add/Edit Citation - for adding in-text citations
2. Add Note - for adding notes from a Zotero library
3. Add/Edit Bibliography - for inserting a bibliography from in-text citations
4. Document Preferences - for selecting citation style, etc.
5. Refresh - refreshes citations/bibliography from Zotero library metadata
6. Unlink citations - unlinks all citations from Zotero - this cannot be undone and thus should only be done to a finished document

Clicking Add/Edit Citation opens up a dialog box.

Typing in a reference will present a list of results from your Zotero library. Items that have been cited already in the document will be displayed first.

Selecting a reference from the list will add it to the dialog box; this can be done multiple times for several references. Once references have been selected in the dialog box, press enter and these will be added as in-text citations. Citations will be added automatically to the document's bibliography and updated as more are added.

To add the last cited item, type ibid in the dialog box and press enter.

To add further details such as page number, click on the blue bubble in the dialog box once a reference has been added:

Alongside page numbers, you can also add a prefix (e.g. cf. or see) or suffix (e.g. see also). The dropdown box for pages can also be changed to a variety of options, including figures, notes, and so on.

Clicking Open in My Library will open the corresponding entry in the Zotero desktop app.

Clicking Add/Edit Bibliography will create a bibliography at the cursor location. This bibliography is connected to in-text citations described above and will automatically update as new citations are added and removed.

Bibliography information is taken straight from Zotero and will only be as accurate as this data! It is highly recommended to review the bibliography and to make any changes and revision in Zotero rather than through Word as any changes made through Word will be overwritten when the bibliography updates