Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Cochrane Library Search Guide

Overview

This guide provides an outline of the databases and content contained within the Cochrane Library, and offers guidance on how to effectively search the Cochrane Library for the information you need.

The guide also demonstrates how to save and manage your searches and search results

Cochrane Library databases and content

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases and content, each featuring a different type of high-quality evidence

Databases

 

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

The CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each Cochrane Review is a systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team). It attempts to identify, appraise and synthesise all of the evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimising bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision-making. Cochrane Reviews are updated to reflect the findings of new evidence when it becomes available because the results of new studies can change the conclusions of a review. Cochrane Reviews are therefore valuable sources of information for those receiving and providing care, as well as for decision-makers and researchers.

 

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)

The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. CENTRAL first began publication in 1996, but its composite nature means that it does not have an inception (start) date, in the way that other traditional biomedical databases do. For more information, see How CENTRAL is created.

 

Cochrane Clinical Answers

Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide an easily readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. Each CCA contains a clinical question, a short answer, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Reviews deemed most relevant to practicing healthcare professionals. The evidence is displayed in a user-friendly tabulated format that includes narratives, data, and links to graphics.

 

Featured content

 

Special Collections

Special Collections within the Cochrane Library bring together Cochrane Reviews and Cochrane Clinical Answers on a specific topic.

 

Epistemonikos

Systematic reviews from the Epistemonikos database are discoverable within the Cochrane Library, when using the Search box on the home page and the Search tab on the Advanced Search page.

 

McMaster Health Forum

Systematic reviews from McMaster's Health Forum's repositories: Health Systems Evidence and Social Systems Evidence, are also discoverable within the Cochrane Library, when using the Search box on the home page.

Library News

Loading ...