Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St George's University of London Logo

Nursing Professionals NHS Library Guide: Articles

This guide gives an overview of library resources and services for NHS nursing, nursing associate and healthcare assistance staff.

Journal Articles

Finding Articles

The following databases contain material which is relevant to Nursing. You will need an OpenAthens account to access most of the resources listed.

 

Finding e-Journals

NHS staff have access to around 5000 full text electronic journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, psychology and healthcare management.

Key nursing collections include 500 full text journals from CINAHL with Full text via EbscoHost, and  Internurse/MAGOnline, which includes a set of practical titles such as British Journal of Healthcare Assistants, British Journal of Nursing and Journal of Wound Care.

The easiest way to check if you have access to a title is using the NICE Journals A-Z search. You will need to log in with your OpenAthens account, using the link in the top right hand corner of the page, to see all of the titles available to you and access the full-text of articles.

There are two ways to search for a journal:

  • Search: search for the Exact title, Start of title or All words in title
  • A-Z: search for the first letter of the journal

Available online content will say Available from… with a link to the journal provider’s website. Before clicking on the link, check whether the particular article you require is available by looking at the dates held electronically next to Full Text.

View our How to find NHS e-Journals tutorial below for more details.

Print Journals

The Library still carries a small number of print titles relevant to nursing professionals, these include:

Nurse Researcher

Nursing Standard

Nursing Times

These titles, and some archived editions, can be found via Hunter, the library search tool and are located in the back of the Library in the silent study area.

If you are unable to find a journal article in our collections, we may be able to obtain a copy for you from a different library via our Interloans service.

If you are unable to find a journal article in our collections we may be able to obtain a copy for you from another library.

 
Making an interlibrary loan (ILL) request

You’ll find the online form to request an inter-library loan in Hunter, sign in to activate the Request Interlibrary Loan link. The link which can be found in the top right hand corner will remain greyed out until you sign-in. The link will take you to an ILL form where you can submit a request. If you would like an article to be delivered directly to your email inbox, please make sure you select: Deliver to me electronically (Articles Only).

 
How much will it cost?

NHS staff are funded for 10 free interloans per year, further requests must be funded by an account code or cash/cheque payment. If you are paying for your ILL by account code, please enter the code in the Comment box. Cash payments must be made at the Library helpdesk (Monday to Friday, 8am-6pm).

 
Receiving and collecting requested ILL items

You can receive your articles by email, see the helpsheet on receiving articles by e-mail - PDF below for instructions. If you have requested whole issues of journals you will be notified when your item arrives. They must be signed for and returned by the date shown on the slip inside. Certain items may not be removed from the Library - they will be marked 'restricted access' and kept at the Helpdesk.

How long does the request take?

Most journal requests usually arrive within 2-7 days. Please note, however, that supply times depend upon the organisation supplying the request, and this is not within our control.


For more information see the inter-library loans webpage.

NHS staff can also use Hunter to search the University's journal holdings.

Access to additional university e-journals is normally only available onsite at St. George’s Library, unless you have an honorary title with St George’s, University of London or you are an academic with an NHS honorary contract. Talk to a member of library staff for more details.

  • In the search box, enter two or three key words of the article or topic you are looking for.
  • Select the Articles and more option from the drop-down menu.
How do I save, print, email an electronic journal article?

If you have opened a HTML version, you can use your normal web browser options to print, save or email the article, these options are usually found in the File menu.

If you have opened a PDF version, use the icons on the toolbar within Adobe Reader to print, save or email.

The article I need is not available through OpenAthens?

 If the article you need is not available via OpenAthens then you have two options:

Other Resources

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar can be configured to show you results where full text access is available through OpenAthens. See the guide below for instructions on how to set it up.


Search engine for filtered high-quality health information. Premium content is only available when accessed via an NHS network

PubMed can also be configured to highlight results where the full text is available via OpenAthens. See the guide below for instructions on setting this up.