This page lists the Library's suite of Canvas learning units/tutorials, and curriculum-embedded sessions that can be adapted and tailored to individual course requirements or linked to a specific assignment. These can be held online via Microsoft Teams, Big Blue Button or in-person. Please contact your Liaison Librarian if you would like to discuss the content of an existing embedded session, or organise a new one for your students.
In addition to the curriculum-embedded sessions on offer to students, the library offers a suite of online Information Skills sessions that run throughout the year. These are available to staff and students, and dates are published quarterly. Course/booking information can be found here.
We also offer drop-in support via our on-call librarians and 1:1 support, which is often required during assignment preparation or as a result of receiving tutor feedback. Please encourage your students to email the Liaison team to arrange individually focused sessions.
This unit is designed to help students identify, find and evaluate material online.
Click on the screenshot to view the finding and evaluating information unit.
This unit takes students through the full process of preparing for a literature search, from developing and focusing their research question, to identifying their main search concepts and alternative terms. It can be used during a live teaching session, before going on to search databases, or as preparation for a live session that concentrates on the actual searching process.
Click on the screenshot to view the how to develop an effective research question unit
If students already have a research topic, parts 3 and 4 can be used to support them in turning their topic into a research question, and identifying their main concepts and alternative terms. This preparation will help students go on to do an effective literature search.
This unit is a refresher on how to conduct a Literature search in a Library database, such as Medline. It concentrates on databases accessed via the Ovid Interface.
As such, it does not provide instructions on how to do a comprehensive search for something like a Systematic Review, or how to do a search via the Cinahl database, but it is intended to be enough to get students started.
Click on the screenshot to view the literature searching unit.
Your liaison librarian can add relevant library and information skills links and resources to students' canvas modules, please contact us to discuss for your particular module.
This unit will provide students with a brief overview of what referencing is and how to reference correctly using the Harvard system at St George's. It can be used as a stand-alone introduction to referencing and as a preparation for a Library training session on referencing.
Click on the screenshot to view the referencing essentials unit.
This unit will give students an introduction to RefWorks, the reference management software supported by St George's library. RefWorks is a web-based application that allows students to store, edit and manage their references. RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) is one of the RefWorks tools and it allows students to add in-text citations and references straight to your Word document.
Students can choose to either learn about a particular part of RefWorks, e.g. setting up an account or using RCM, or they can use this unit as a self-paced tutorial on how use RefWorks. Each page covers one step and is made up of one or more short videos, which guide them through the process.
This unit is also suitable for staff and researcher who use, or wish to learn how to use, RefWorks.
Click on the screenshot to view the RefWorks unit.
Below is a selection of what we offer for students and which can be embedded in the curriculum. These sessions can be tailored for the requirements of the module and course that you wish them to support. We aim to be flexible, offering a blended learning approach, and can deliver live sessions via Teams or Face to Face. We can also provide asynchronous support and training via students' Canvas modules.
Short, standalone modules and courses, such as modules on Applied Clinical Practice, are offered a selection of the standard sessions, and these may vary due to the nature of the modules.
Audience: All new undergraduate and postgraduate students
Format: Library introductory video via the St George's Induction module, and online activities
Duration: 5 + 15 minutes
The online induction is part of the St George's online induction module that new students take. The short video introduces new students to the range of resources and services available in the Library. Students are invited to undertake a Library quiz to help cement this new knowledge. Students will learn the top 5 things they need to know about the Library when they start at St George's, and know where to access help both online and in person.
This session can be titled to fit your module, for example it may be called 'Introduction to Essential Library Resources'
Audience: Undergraduate year one
Format: Presentation and breakout activities. Can be delivered either face to face or online.
Duration: 60-90 minutes
This introductory literature searching session concentrates on using Hunter to locate different types of health evidence. Other resource types, such as the Library's anatomy resources, can be introduced depending on the student cohort. Students will be introduced to the importance of planning a search, considering alternative terms and using Boolean operators. We can also incorporate an introduction on how to evaluate health information, as well as further self-directed activity or asynchronous learning, such as linking to our Library canvas units. This session can be tailored: please contact your liaison librarian to discuss your requirements.
This session can be titled to fit your module, for example it may sometimes be called 'Literature searching' or 'Searching healthcare databases'
Audience: Undergraduate year two, taught postgraduate year one.
Format: Presentation and breakout activities. This session can be delivered either face to face or online.
Duration: 60-90 minutes
Building on the skills learnt in year one (or in previous studies) this session concentrates on using more sophisticated tools to carry out a literature search. Students will be introduced to advanced searching techniques and are encouraged to use these in planning and developing their own search strategy. Boolean operators will be revisited. The resources used for research can be discussed with academic staff prior to the session in order to select the most appropriate ones, for example Cinahl vs Medline. This session may include an optional activity where students can submit their search strategies for feedback from their Liaison Librarians.
Audience: Undergraduates and taught postgraduates undertaking an extensive piece of research such as their dissertation. Likely to be 3rd year undergraduate and any year of postgraduate.
Format: Presentation and breakout activities
Duration: 90 minutes
This session provides students with an opportunity to use a range of resources to explore the literature for their dissertation, literature review or research topic. A range of search strategies will be presented and analysis of the material they find will be discussed. Some help for individual search strategies/topics will be available during the session breakout activities.
Audience: Students may be offered a Referencing session in Year 1 and a Refresher session in Year 2 or subsequent years.
Format: Presentation and breakout activities. This session can be delivered either face to face or online.
Duration: 60 minutes
This session provides students with an overview of referencing principles and demonstrates how to avoid plagiarism through incorrect referencing. It features opportunities for student to practise referencing a variety of information sources using the Harvard system based on Cite Them Right.
The Harvard referencing system is used by the majority of courses at St George's. There may be some courses at St George's that use the Vancouver referencing system (mainly MBBS). If you require a referencing session using the Vancouver style, please contact your liaison librarian.
Audience: All undergraduates and taught postgraduates.
Format: self-directed learning using the Library's RefWorks learning unit
Duration: 30 minutes self-directed activity.
This unit gives an introduction to RefWorks, the reference management software supported by St George's library. RefWorks is a web-based application that allows you to store, edit and manage your references. RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) is one of the RefWorks tools and it allows you to add in-text citations and references straight to your Word document.
Students can choose to either learn about a particular part of RefWorks, e.g. setting up an account or using RCM, or they can use this unit as a self-paced tutorial on how use RefWorks. Each page covers one step and is made up of one or more short videos, which guide you through the process.
Audience: All new students on non-linear short courses
Format: Library introductory video, and online or face to face activities
Duration: 5 + 25 minutes
The short video introduces new students to the range of resources and services available in the Library. Students will learn the top 5 things they need to know about the Library when they start at St George's, and know where to access help both online and in person. Students may also receive a live session, either face or face or via Teams, with their liaison librarian. Students may be invited to undertake a Library quiz to help cement this new knowledge.
Audience: All students on non-linear or short courses, such as Advanced Clinical Practice modules
Format: Presentation and breakout activities. Can be delivered either face to face or online.
Duration: 60-90 minutes
Students on Advanced Clinical Practice modules are level 7 (postgraduate) students and we assume they have learned some information searching skills during previous studies. This session will remind students of the importance of planning a search, considering alternative terms and using Boolean operators. Students will be introduced to more advanced searching techniques and will have the opportunity to use more sophisticated tools to carry out a literature search. The previous experience of students, and the resources required for the module topic, can be discussed with academic staff prior to the session in order to select the most appropriate ones, for example Cinahl vs Medline.
Audience: All students on non-linear or short courses, such as Advanced Clinical Practice modules
Format: Presentation and breakout activities. Can be delivered either face to face or online.
Duration: 90 minutes
Students on Advanced Clinical Practice modules are level 7 (postgraduate) students and we assume they have learned some information searching skills during previous studies. This session will remind students of the importance of planning a search, considering alternative terms and using Boolean operators. Students will be introduced to more advanced searching techniques and will have the opportunity to use more sophisticated tools to carry out a literature search. The previous experience of students, and the resources required for the module topic, can be discussed with academic staff prior to the session in order to select the most appropriate ones, for example Cinahl vs Medline.
The Liaison team staff the On-Call Librarian service for students, which is available 10am-2pm Mondays to Fridays. There is no need to book: students just need to visit the Library Helpdesk between 10am and 2pm (Monday to Friday) and ask to speak to the On-Call Librarian.
Your students can get help from staff at the Library Helpdesk or using the On-Call Librarian service. Some students might prefer to arrange an appointment with a member of the Liaison Team. These appointments can be either in person or via Teams, according to individual student need and availability.
Your Liaison Librarian can offer students:
Please encourage your students to email the Team on liaison@sgul.ac.uk.