St George's University of London Logo

Teaching Staff

A guide for IMBE and FHSCE staff about the Library

Library Support for SHINE

Below you will find examples of relevant books, databases and e-resources made available to you by the Library.

Should you need help with conducting a literature search in any of these databases, please contact Zena Ali - your Liaison Librarian. Zena can offer 1:1 support via Microsoft Teams to help you with your research.

Useful books to get you started

Finding information

Databases and e-resources

Education databases allow you to track-down journal articles by topic and link you to the whole article if the library owns it in its collection. They offer a more comprehensive search than Hunter.

NEW
January 2020: We've recently purchased access to a range of databases which specialise in Education research. You can find a list of these resources below.

You might also want to explore free to access resources such as:

To find these and more and to see the offsite access links, visit our Databases page.  If you know which resource you are looking for, use the A-Z list to navigate to it. You can also browse databases by speciality or resource type. When you have selected a resource, choose the appropriate on-site (no login required) or off-site (university login required) link to access it.

image of hunter logo

Use Hunter, the library's discovery tool,  to find books by title or author, journal articles or journal titles.

1. Find books

To find books in Hunter, enter your search terms, select Books and more. Sign in to find the book location and availability.

Some books are available as e-books, select View Online to view electronic versions. You will need to login with your university login to access these. 

2. Find journal articles

In Hunter, enter an article title or a few words from the title and select Articles and more. Select view online and follow the link to the full text. You will need to login with your SGUL login to access these off-site.  

3. Find journals

To find a specific journal in Hunter, type in the name of the journal and select Journal Titles results will include journal titles from the Library’s electronic and print journal collections. You will need to login with your university login to access electronic journals off-site. 

 

Websites