Skip to Main Content Library Header

Humanities & Social Sciences Resource Guide

There are many options for finding resources from the humanities and social sciences, both within St George's and beyond. This guide outlines key resources and how to access them.

Archives

What is it?

Tooting campus has its own Archives and Special Collections, providing rich documentary material on the history of St. George's medical school. 

The Library also provides access to the Royal College of Physicians Archive, which documents the history and development of Western medicine.

Where can I access it?

Tooting Campus Archives and Special Collections

Part of Tooting Campus' Archives and Special Collections is available online.

You can also visit in person (by appointment) to view items in the Archives. For more info, see here.

Royal College of Physicians Archive

The Royal College of Physicians archives is available online.

Click here for onsite access.

Click here for offsite access (login required).

Why use it?

Archives are a good place to look for primary sources, and provide social and historical context to medicine and healthcare. Both resources are freely available.

How do I use it?

Enter keywords into the search boxes to find archival materials.

Both archives support advanced searching as in other databases. For help with searching, see our literature searching guide.

Limitations and Notes

  • Access to Tooting Campus Archives and Special Collections is by appointment only. Please contact the archivist if you would like to visit.